Newsletter 14: How do you Avoid the Void?

In my last newsletter, I disclosed that I was in the process of freeing myself of my addiction to nicotine, and I’m happy to say that I’ve now been “smober” for over 110 days (and have NOT smoked over 4400 cigarettes!!)… wow!! and, best of all, I’m now beginning to experience the many benefits that come from returning to “normal breathing” after over 40 years of suffocating myself while allowing myself to be victimized by this disgusting habit. And, as always, I’ve used this experience as a way to explore the deeper impact that this addiction had on my reality, at every level, and my intention is to share my insights here in hopes that others might benefit from my experiences. You are probably wondering what all this has to do with the Void (as mentioned in the title, above)… please be patient as I try to bring a little clarity to all this…

My Premise is…

that there is a void or emptiness to life that we are all aware of, at least at the periphery of our ‘normal’ existence, that each of tries desperately to avoid.Image result for addictionMostly, we aren’t even consciously aware that this void is there because we are so busy with our day-to-day lives that we don’t notice it, but when we do touch upon it, usually as a form of a ‘negative’ feeling, there is a natural drive to not be in it… to move away from it in some way. We use all kind of ways to repress, suppress, deny or project these ‘uncomfortable feelings’… we’ll do almost anything to feel better. One of our favorite “tools” to free ourselves of this discomfort is the use of some sort of addictive substance or behavior.

What is Addiction?

I’m going to guess that most of you believe you have a pretty good idea of what an addiction is, and there are probably quite a few who have dealt with some form of it, either in yourself or in someone you knew. My contention is that almost everyone has some form of addiction, which I define as anything that is used to avoid, suppress or get rid of any uncomfortable or unwanted feelings or thoughts. I call it the “back-door” we all use to make ourselves feel better, and although it is pretty easy to identify the “normal and accepted” habits and substances (drugs, alcohol, nicotine, overeating, overworking, etc.), I’m also including many other habit patterns and repetitive, compulsive, and self-limiting belief structures that serve to numb us out to “what is”, especially when “what is” becomes the empty and meaningless wasteland I call the VOID.

What is the Void?

OK, so this brings us to the whole point of this discussion… when I quit smoking, I ran head-on into the same situation that everyone who stops any addictive behavior runs into: the VOID. It’s that dreaded feeling of emptiness and the associated anxiety that comes about as you go through the many phases of withdrawal and recovery, as your mind and body begins to adjust to living without the ‘crutch’. For many, this pain and suffering eventually leads either to relapse, or the substitution of any substance or habit that brings about some sort of relief. Now, I’m sure many of you are saying to yourselves: “what’s wrong with doing something to make myself feel better?” Well, maybe nothing… but, I wanted to see what would happen if I didn’t do anything to change the feelings I was experiencing… my question was: “is there a deeper source of joy and happiness that will appear if I don’t do anything to change or modify my present situation?”.

So, What happened?

Well… “I” died! And, I can attest to the fact that, contrary to what most us believe about the “horrors of the void”, it is actually the gateway to a whole new world that manifests in place of what is lost as we let go of the illusion we’ve all thought was so “real”. Of course, most of the “New Age” paradigms promise that “if you do this (whatever this is) you’ll get what you want, and then you will be happy”, so my “theory” may not sound very appealing, plus I’m not promising any instant gratification or any other “quick fix”…. the TRUTH that you’ll uncover by playing this game will only come to you as a result of a willingness to participate in a long-term soul-searching inquiry, devoid of any manufactured or imagined “pleasantries”.

So, don’t take my word for it… in fact, don’t believe what anyone has to say about this… you MUST see IT for yourself, and then you will KNOW!!Image result for be present to what is

===== This, That and The Other Thing ====

ECAP Tip of the Month: One of the safest ways to explore the Void, and it’s effects on your life, is to spend some time doing the Presence Breathing Technique (PBT) which is defined here. This is a gentle and effective way to get in touch with your inner wisdom by establishing a more intimate relationship with your authentic Self. Of course, if you really want to explore this whole “realm”, you can always set up a free appointment with me! (See info below)

Contact Info: If you want to contact me, set up a free intro session, subscribe to my newsletter, or view an archive of past newsletters, and audio files of past teleconferences , you can visit my website at: BeyondBeliefCoaching.com. If you would like to read or comment on this, or past newsletters, or if you want to peruse my other brilliant offerings, you can visit my blog at Frankly Speaking.

Miscellaneous: One project I’m working on is to present a live video online workshop to explore and explain how to use the ECAP, and the material from Greg’s books, to get the results you are looking for. This will be a free webinar, and will be archived on YouTube as a resource for anyone who wants to know more about playing the game of “Grow A Greater You”… further details will be included in future editions of this newsletter and on Greg’s site.

Also, I am collecting input from my clients, my subscribers, and from anyone else interested in taking part in a journey to explore how we all might take this process to the next level. I will be sharing more information about this as it unfolds, but for now, please feel free to contact me about this (or any other point of interest) if you are so moved.

Quote of the Week: All that is necessary to awaken to yourself as the radiant emptiness of spirit is to stop seeking something more or better or different, and to turn your attention inward to the awake silence that you are.” ~ Adyashanti

NAMASTE!!

Click here to leave a comment

